Monday, January 10, 2011

2011 Award Winners!

What an exciting day for youth literature! This morning The American Library Assossiation announced the 2011 winners for 23 different youth literature awards, including the Newbery Medal, Caldecott Medal, and Printz Award!

And now for the big winners...

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature goes to...

Moon over Manifest, by Clare Vanderpool

Four Newbery Honor Books also were named:

Turtle in Paradise, by Jennifer L. Holm

Heart of a Samurai, by Margi Preus

Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night, by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen

One Crazy Summer, by Rita Williams-Garcia

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults goes to...

Ship Breaker, written by Paolo Bacigalupi

Four Printz Honor Books also were named:

Stolen, by Lucy Christopher

Revolver, by Marcus Sedgwick

Nothing, by Janne Teller

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children goes to...

A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead

Two Caldecott Honor Books also were named:

Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave, illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill

Interrupting Chicken, written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein

And be sure to put this year's Newbury and Printz winners and honor books on reserve! Happy 2011!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright 2009 Laura Druda